Computer Help 101: Learning More About Social Ads

Conway Computer HelpIf you’ve been looking for computer help and assistance to resolve your problems with social ads, you have found the right article. Below, you will find information about social ads, where they come from and what you can do about them.

What are social ads?

According to computer help experts, social ads or social advertising is another form of advertising or marketing through social media. In a nut shell, what social media is doing is using your account or profile to promote a certain brand, service or product. But they don’t just randomly choose profiles and accounts. Your account gets chosen when you like, share, or comment on the page of the said brand, service, or product.

For example, when you like the page of the restaurant you went to for dinner last night, Facebook or Google+ will take note of that and tag you in the next time they run an advertisement for that restaurant. But don’t worry because this ad will only show up on the timeline of the people you are connected with.

This is also the reason why you are suddenly seeing posts from your friends in your newsfeed that they liked a certain product. The social ad post looks something like “(your friend) likes (name of restaurant or product)” and then the advertisement for that restaurant or product.

Why all the hype on social ads?

Marketing professionals have seen and witnessed how a simple post in the social media could go viral. People are now using the Internet more because of social media. And when they want to know about something, find out what bands are playing locally or the hottest restaurant is in their town, all they have to do is turn to their social media accounts. They will either ask a question or do some searching.

This is why most brands, products, and services are creating their own social media accounts; and also the reason why most social media platforms now have their own business features and functions.

According to Facebook, everyone wants to know what their friends like. This is what actually helps people find products and services that they are interested in. And if you think about, it is much similar to the old and proven marketing strategy which is word of mouth. Only this time, the word comes from social media posts and often without the user’s consent.

But when you think about it, aren’t you more likely to try and learn more about a product or service that one of your friends or acquaintances have liked or shared? If they liked it, you probably will too, right?

Computer help professionals agree that social ads have hit the internet like a storm and it has been proven effective based on the evident increased sales shown by brands, products and services that have taken on the process. On the other hand, can the same be said for people who have been tagged and “used” in social advertising?

People’s reactions to social ads

Social ads have received a mixture of reactions from people and social media users. There are some who don’t mind considering they do like the restaurant, product or service. And if given an opportunity, they would gladly make a review or endorse the said restaurant, product or service in their social media accounts.

Others say there really is no harm in sharing that information – that you liked a business page or you checked in to a hotel or restaurant – to your friends, albeit without your consent. After all, they wouldn’t really post about checking in or like the page if they really did not enjoy their experience.

On the other hand, there are social media users who do not appreciate the use of their name and profile picture to benefit a business. Some feel violated while others feel that it would be misleading their friends. This is most especially true for those who have accidentally liked or clicked on a business page.

Computer help professionals say a good rule of thumb to follow is that if you did not hit a business page’s like button, your profile will not be associated with its advertisements and promotions. Similarly, if you liked a page, left a comment or feedback on the page, and checked in with your social media account that you’ve visited their local store, expect that your profile will be used in their advertisements.

What can you do about social ads?

Before deciding to delete all your social media accounts or staying away from business pages, know that there is something you can about social ads. There are limitations set by social media platforms so as to protect the personal information of their users.

For example, Facebook says that if your profile image has been associated with a business advertisement, saying you liked their product or service, you should know that it is only your profile image that will be used in the business advertisement. Your other images that you or your friends have posted online are safe from being used in the ads, unless of course you set them as your profile image.

Additionally, your personal information is safe and not accessed by the businesses running the ads. Social media platforms do not sell your information or account to these businesses. They only allow the use of your profile image and user name to be associated with the ads, considering you did it yourself in the first place.

But if you prefer not to be used in business ads and promotional strategies, even if you liked their product or service, there is something you can do.

Computer help experts suggest the following steps to opt out of social advertising in Facebook and Google+.

Facebook:

  1. Click the cog symbol in the upper right corner and choose Settings.
  2. Click Ads on the left menu panel.
  3. Find the section labelled Ads & Friends and click Edit on the right side of this section.
  4. You will then see a section called “Pair my social actions with ads for” and a drop down menu beside it.
  5. Right now it probably says “your friends”. Change it to “no one”.
  6. And you’re done.

Google+:

  1. Go to the Shared Endorsements Settings page after logging in to your account.
  2. Find where it says, “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements”. Right now, this option is probably marked or checked. Uncheck this feature so your account will not be used for social ads.
  3. Save your changes and you’re done.

For more information on social ads, contact PCRx Computers now and speak with one of their computer help professionals.

PCRx Computers
408 Main Street
Conway, SC 29526
843-488-4100
www.PCRxcomputers.com

Providing you with the best and unparalleled computer help services to ensure your computer’s and online identity’s protection and security.

Be Sociable, Share!